About the Journal       

The ISDA Journal is a peer reviewed open access quarterly journal published by the Institute for the Study of Developing Areas (ISDA) Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala. The journal is multi-disciplinary and gives thrust on the broad area of development and Public Policy. It provides platform for researchers, academicians, professionals, and students to share knowledge in the form of worthy and resourceful empirical and theoretical research papers, case studies, literature reviews and book reviews. It is registered with the Registrar of Newspapers for India (R.N.64437/91) and obtained ISSN0971-2550 in the year 1991. It has a national level circulation and subscribed by libraries of several universities, colleges and institutions of higher learning all over the country. It has more than thousand individual subscribers nation-wide and a wide reach by using the facility of Open Access provision. 

Editorial Team

The Journal is academically assisted by an editorial board. Members of the board are nominated by the director board of ISDA and ratified by its general body meeting. The existing editorial board members are:

Editor- in-Chief

Dr.Mohanan B. Pillai

Professor, Department of Politics and International Studies,Pondicherry Central University, Puducherry 605014

Executive Editor

Dr.V. Rajendran Nair

Associate Professor of Political Science (Retd) Mahatma Gandhi College, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala


Dr.Pavithran K.S.

Professor & Former Head, Department of Political Science & Chairman KM Centre for West Asian and Indian Ocean Studies, University of Calicut, Kerala

Associate Editors

Dr.B. Vijayachandran Pillai

Professor & Former Head, Department of Commerce and Management Studies University of Calicut, Kerala

Dr. Manju S. Nair

Professor, Department of Economics & Dean of Social Science, University of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram

Dr. V. Bijukumar

Associate Professor, Centre for Political Studies, School of International Studies, JNU, New Delhi

Assistant Editors

Gayatri Devi Pillai

Assistant Professor, Department . of English, NSS College, Nilamel, Kollam, Kerala

Prayaga M.A.

Faculty member (Contract) Dept. of Political Science, University of Kerala

Abhijith Rajendran

Researcher in Management Studies

Systems Manager

Ashwin Rajendran

 Editorial Advisory Board

 We have an editorial advisory board partaking senior professors, academic experts and individuals of outstanding performance in the field of research and publication. The members are nominated and periodically rationalized by the editorial board. Present Advisory Board include:


Dr. K. Raman Pillai

Professor & Former Head, Dept. of Political Science, University of Kerala


Dr.Rajan Gurukal

Professor & Former Vice Chancellor Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam, Kerala & Vice Chairman, State Higher Education Council, Government of Kerala

Dr. Venkitesh Athreya

Former Professor & Former Professor, Bharathidasan University and Advisor (Food Security) M.S. Swaminathan Foundation.

Dr. D.Gopal

Professor of Political Science, Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi

Dr. J. Prabhash

Professor & Former Head, Dept. of Political Science and Former Pro-Vice Chancellor, University of Kerala.

Dr. Ajith Dayanandan

Professor, College of Business and Public Policy, University of Alaska, Ankhorage, USA

Dr. Muzaffar Assadi

Professor & Chairman, Dept. of Political Science, Mysore University, Mysore, Karnataka

 Publication Policy

           ISDA Journal, the multi-disciplinary and refereed Quarterly primarily focuses on development and public policy. The Journal has a track record of three decades of uninterrupted publication. The Journal invites empirical studies, conceptual papers and review articles that fall within the scope of the journal for publication.

         Our editorial policy is that we will not consider article/ research paper for publication, if it is currently being reviewed by any other Journal or if it has already been published or will be published elsewhere. The Journal or any part thereof may not be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the Editorial Board. All data, views, opinions, etc., are the sole responsibility of the authors. Neither publisher nor Editorial Board is in any way responsible for them.

         Authors should not submit the same manuscript simultaneously to other publications for concurrent consideration. Authors will have to issue a certificate stating that the submitted paper is an original work and has not been published elsewhere fully or partially, and that they have complied with all ethical standards. Authors are solely responsible for the authenticity of the data, analysis and the conclusions arrived at. The ISDA Journal, its Editorial Board and the publisher (Institute for the Study of Developing Areas) are in no way responsible for the data and their interpretations. Permission for reproduction of an article or any part thereof should be obtained from the Executive Editor


The journal provides open access and free downloads for researchers, faculties, students and all academic community who see it valuable. Hence, the authors who want to publish their articles in the journal have to bear Article Processing Charges (APCs) that include review charges, printing charges, digital archiving charges, electronic backup, postage and  journal infrastructure expenses and fee for obtaining DOI (Digital Object Identifier) at an average of INR 300/- (Rupees three hundred only) per page.  

Hard Copy: A hard copy of the journal in which Author’s article is published will be provided free of cost. They may demand additional  copies of the issue after payment  @Rs.150/- per copy (postal charges extra)

Payment method:

Bank Transfer

Bank Name                          :   Canara Bank 

Beneficiary Name                :    ISDA Journal

Bank Account number        :     40132200007701

Beneficiary Bank IFSC          :    CNRB0014005              

Account type                       :     SB                           

Beneficiary Bank Address     :     Canara Bank  Fort Branch,Thiruvananthapuram,Kerala- PIN 695 023